From The Posy Collection comes this kit that includes 18 Ct. Aida, floss needle, chart, instructions, and color photo of finished project - finished size is 6" x 4.5"
After the first Cliff House burned to the ground in 1894, owner Adolph Sutro constructed a replacement on a much grander scale. Designed in the style of a 17th century French chateau, the second Cliff House opened to the public in February of 1896. The elegant eight-story structure included four spires and an observation tower 200 feet above sea level, with an elevator, at that time quite an innovation, connecting all floors. Designed as site for dining, dancing, and entertaining rather than a hotel, the building included several galleries and parlors, with multiple private lunchrooms and dining rooms. The building survived the great earthquake of 1906, but was destroyed in less than two hours by a raging fire in February, 1907. Today, visitors can imagine the lively activities that took place during the relatively short lifetime of this impressive edifice.